2017 All State Band, All Shore Band, Carnegie Hall Honors
Wicomico County Middle and High School Band Students Achieve All State Senior Band, All Shore Junior and Senior Bands, Regional Honors
Posted on 02/01/2017

Congratulations to the outstanding band members from Wicomico County Public Schools who have been selected by audition to participate in 2017 All State Senior Band, All State Senior Orchestra, All Shore Senior and Junior Bands, and the 2017 Honors Performance Series at Carnegie Hall in New York.

One student from Wicomico County Public Schools was selected through audition to participate in the prestigious All State Senior Band, one is an alternate, and another will perform with the All State Senior Orchestra. Hannah Lewis (French horn), a student at Parkside High and a participant in the Wicomico County Visual and Performing Arts Program, was selected for All State Senior Band. Michael Avanessian (percussion), a student at James M. Bennett High, is 2nd alternate. Alexis Emerson (trumpet) of James M. Bennett High will perform with the All State Senior Orchestra, having initially been selected as an All State Senior Band alternate for trumpet. The All State Senior Band and All State Senior Orchestra will practice and perform Feb. 10-12 in Baltimore.

Mardela High sophomores Mitchell Adams (trumpet) and Hunter Wirt (percussion) will travel to New York City to participate in the 2017 Honors Performance Series at Carnegie Hall Feb. 2-6.  They completed an online application and audition process at the end of September, and were chosen from among 750 finalists representing 49 U.S. states, Guam, two provinces of Canada, Australia, Chile, Germany, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Qatar, and South Korea. 

On Saturday, middle and high school band students from throughout the Eastern Shore auditioned for All Shore Band, and 55 Wicomico students were chosen for the Junior and Senior All Shore Band ensembles. Ten of the 55 students achieved the distinction of being 1st chair for their instrument. Students selected for All Shore Band will participate in two days of rehearsal March 31-April 1 capped off by a concert on Saturday, April 1 at Queen Anne’s County High School.

The achievements of all these band students highlight the high level of music education in Wicomico County Public Schools. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Donna C. Hanlin and the Board of Education are very proud that Wicomico County Public Schools has been named one of the Best Communities for Music Education in the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) Foundation Survey. Wicomico has earned this honor seven of the past 10 years due to its excellent music educators and music instruction programs.

Congratulations to all of these great musicians!


All Shore Senior Band


James M. Bennett High:

Flute: Hannah Burchard, Sydney Weaver, Laura Adams, Yeongju Lee

Oboe: Eun-Ha Yim (1st chair)

Clarinet: Jon Adams (1st chair), Stephanie Myers, Jessica Wilkes, Briana Taylor, Abbey Loar

Bass clarinet: Chris Avanessian (1st chair), Kristen Gittings

French horn: Eddie Nieberding

Trumpet: Alexis Emerson (1st chair), Elliana Miller, Aaron Stiegler

Trombone: TJ Williams (1st chair), Zeth Weaver

Percussion: Michael Avanessian


Mardela High:

Flute: Morgan McGee

Alto saxophone: Abbie Boltz

Tenor saxophone: Matthew Guy

Trumpet: Maggie Adams

Trombone: Mitchell Adams, Keith Flagg

Timpani: Hunter Wirt (1st chair)


Parkside High:

Clarinet: Sophia Christie, Gracie Perry

Alto saxophone: Emily Carroll (also participates in the Visual and Performing Arts Program)

French horn: Hannah Lewis (1st chair), Allyson Morris. (Hannah and Allyson also participate in the Visual and Performing Arts Program.)

Trumpet: Daniel Arroyo-Flores, Soo Bum Jeong, Carl LeMaster

Snare Drum: Brandon Bosley (1st chair), Evan Lombardo


Wicomico High:

Flute: Gia Bautista, Sin Lee

Clarinet: Olivia Kenney

French horn: Sean Jacobs

Tuba: Daniel Davis


All Shore Junior Band


Bennett Middle:

Flute: Sara Sadjadi, Sunny Baek, Eunice Yoon, Gi Kwon, Kamerin Hull

Clarinet: Emily Lynch

Alto saxophone: Kilee Taylor, David Choi

Trumpet: Landon Stauffer

French horn: Simon Lewis (1st chair)

Percussion: Osman Yahya


Mardela Middle:

French horn: Alyssa Boltz


Pittsville Middle:

Clarinet: Kailey Thamert

Baritone: Mason Lewis

French horn: Lilly Dasher


Salisbury Middle:

Flute: Kayla Lim (1st chair), Hannah Kim

Alto saxophone: Noah Hornstein

Trombone: Stephen Shockley, Ryan Selser, Ben Canada

Trumpet: Trinity Weaver (alternate)


Wicomico Middle:

Tuba: Gage Sabater