2018 All Shore Band Musicians from Wicomico Schools
Wicomico County Middle and High School Band Students Selected for All Shore Junior and Senior Bands, All State Senior Band
Posted on 03/09/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Wicomico County Middle and High School Band Students Selected for All Shore Junior and Senior Bands, All State Senior Band

Congratulations to the outstanding band members from Wicomico County Public Schools who have been selected by audition to participate in 2018 All Shore Senior and Junior Bands. The performances will take place in the Wicomico High School Auditorium Saturday, April 14 after two days of All Shore rehearsals.

Two of the All Shore Senior Band students from Wicomico County Public Schools were also selected by audition to participate in the prestigious All State Senior Band. Allyson Morris (French horn), a student at Parkside High, and Hunter Wirt (percussion), a student at Mardela High, were selected for All State Senior Band. Both are part of the Wicomico County Visual and Performing Arts Program. The All State Senior Band will practice and perform March 9-11 in Baltimore.

Middle and high school band students from throughout the Eastern Shore auditioned for All Shore Band, and 63 Wicomico students were chosen for the 2018 Junior and Senior All Shore Band ensembles. Seven of the 63 students achieved the distinction of being 1st chair for their instrument.

The achievements of all these band students highlight the high level of music education in Wicomico County Public Schools. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Donna C. Hanlin and the Board of Education are very proud that Wicomico County Public Schools has been named one of the Best Communities for Music Education in the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) Foundation Survey. Wicomico has earned this honor eight of the past 11 years due to its excellent music educators and music instruction programs.

Congratulations to all of these great musicians!


All Shore Senior Band

James M. Bennett High:

Flute: Laura Adams (1st chair), Hannah Burchard, Sydney Weaver, Yeongju Lee

Clarinet: Abbey Loar, Jessica Wilkes, Stephanie Myers, Briana Taylor

Bass clarinet: Kristen Gittings (1st chair)

Alto Saxophone: Noah Hornstein

Trumpet: Kyong (Josh) Kwak, Elliana Miller, Landon Stauffer

French Horn: Simon Lewis

Trombone: Tyler Williams

Euphonium: Brock Forsythe

Tuba: Alex Sewell, Matt Selser

Percussion: Michael Avanessian (1st chair)               


Mardela High:

Flute: Morgan McGee

Bass Clarinet: Olivia Waters

Tenor Saxophone: Matthew Guy

Trumpet: Maggie Adams

French Horn: Alyssa Boltz

Trombone: Mitchell Adams (1st chair), Keith Flagg

Snare: Gary Hoehler

Timpani: Hunter Wirt (1st chair). Hunter had the highest All Shore score on all three percussion instruments – snare, timpani and mallets.

Mallets: Madison Horner                                           


Parkside High:

Flute: Sara Sadjadi, Kamerin Hull

Clarinet: Gracie Perry

Bass Clarinet: Shawn Goldman

Alto Saxophone: McKenna Truitt

Trumpet: Daniel Arroyo-Flores

French Horn: Allyson Morris

Snare Drum: Evan Lombardo                         


Wicomico High:

French Horn: Sean Jacobs                              


All Shore Junior Band


Bennett Middle:

Flute: Eunice Yoon (1st chair), Grace Davis, Miyona Whaley

Clarinet: Kumail Alzayady, Emily Lynch, Kiley DiCintio

Trumpet: Kara Lewis, Logan Beebe, Emily White, Clara Tuske

French Horn: Mary Hsia (Mary is also All Shore Orchestra, for cello)

Snare: Seth Morris                                         


Mardela Middle:

French Horn: Matthew Lewis                        


Pittsville Middle:

Flute: Chloe Dasher

Clarinet: Alexis Bowe

French Horn: Lilly Dasher (1st chair), Leanna Morris

Trombone: Le'Quiesha Hodges                     


Salisbury Middle:

Flute: Hannah Kim, Rosy Gao, Kayla Lim

Tenor Saxophone: Ava Connolly

Trombone: Ryan Selser, Stephen Shockley               


Wicomico Middle:

Flute: Ava Bautista